Synod Council

South-Central Synod of Wisconsin Synod Council

The Synod Council is the board of directors of the synod and serves as its interim legislative authority between meetings of the Synod Assembly. The council is tasked with the “governance” of the synod and their responsibilities include setting policy, monitoring programs and resources, coordinating with the bishop and staff, as well as providing a strategic plan for the synod.

Synod Officers

Rev. Joy Mortensen-Wiebe
Kevin Opperman
Synod Vice-President
Rev. Naomi Garber
Rev. Wendy Moen

Synod Council Members

The Synod Council includes the officers of the synod and thirteen members (including a youth member) elected at-large by the synod assembly. Also included are two non-voting liaisons from Women of the ELCA and Lutheran Men in Mission. The executive committee includes the officers of the synod and two council members (indicated with a *) who are elected annually by the council.

Sandra Ballesteros
San Jose (Beloit)

South Rock Conference

Juan Carlos Cabrera
Santa Maria (Fitchburg)

Central/West Madison Conference

Rev. Tim Hansen
Our Savior's Lutheran (Sun Prairie)

North-Northeast Dane/North Madison Conference

Ross Larson

Central/West Madison Conference

Todd Long
Bethlehem Lutheran (Brodhead)

South Rock Conference

Mary Nervig
St. Stephen's Lutheran (Monona)

East Madison Conference

Trevor Thom
Immanuel Evangelical (Watertown)

Columbia/Dodge/North Jefferson Conference

Rev. Andy Twiton
Trinity (Madison)

Central/West Madison Conference

Cindy Wuttke
Christ Evangelical (Sharon)

South Jefferson/Walworth Conference

Claire Johnson
St. John's Lutheran (Oregon)

Central/West Madison Conference

Rev. Sally Williams
St. John's (Prairie du Sac)

Sauk/Columbia Conference

Donna Peterson
Grace (Dodgeville)

Women of the ELCA (Non-Voting Member)

Jim Schieble
Faith (Columbus)

Lutheran Men in Mission (Non-Voting Member)