Synod Council

The Synod Council is the board of directors of the synod and serves as its interim legislative authority between meetings of the Synod Assembly. The council is tasked with the “governance” of the synod and their responsibilities include setting policy, monitoring programs and resources, coordinating with the bishop and staff, as well as providing a strategic plan for the synod.

Synod Officers

Rev. Peter Rogness

Interim Bishop

Jane Cahill Wolfgram

Vice President

Rev. Brad Pohlman


Bruce Hutler


Synod Council Members

The Synod Council includes the officers of the synod and thirteen members (including a youth member) elected at-large by the synod assembly. Also included are two non-voting liaisons from Women of the ELCA and Lutheran Men in Mission. The executive committee includes the officers of the synod and two council members (indicated with a *) who are elected annually by the council.

Eric Knueve

Bethel Lutheran - Madison

Carolyn Butts *

St. John’s - Evansville

Emily Sullivan

Youth, Grace - Dodgeville

Rev. Tim Hansen

Our Savior’s - Sun Prairie

Mary Nervig

St. Stephen’s - Monona

Rev. Naomi Garber*

First English - Platteville

Debi Peters

Our Savior’s - Sun Prairie

Trevor Thom

Immanuel Evangelical - Watertown

Rev. Andy Twiton

Trinity Lutheran - Madison

Cindy Wuttke

Christ Evangelical - Sharon

Juan Carlos Cabrera

Santa Maria - Fitchburg / San Jose - Beloit

Ben Johnston-Urey

First Lutheran - Janesville

Jim Schieble


Janna Smith